How Long Before You Receive Permanent Plastic Driver License After Online Renewal.

Anura Guruge, laughing, picture November 16, 2011.

….
……
by Anura Guruge

Having renewed my license online on Thursday, June 28, 2012, I did a Google on the ‘above subject’ out of curiosity. I was surprised by the paucity of useful results I got. So, let me help out by stating how long it took in my case: 20 days.

Renewed: Thursday, June 28, 2012.

Received it by mail: Wednesday, July 18, 2012.

20 elapsed days, 13 working days not counting the day I renewed or the day I received it. We had July 4th on a Wednesday, which I am sure added at least a day. So roughly 2 working weeks. That seems OK — given that the DMV allows itself 2 months to deliver it.

I do not know the details at all, but I think that the NH DMV, like all others, now has to submit all driver renewal applications to a Federal agency for review and approval. So that must account for some of this wait period.

The one thing that I find disquieting is that the license is sent ordinary mail with the ‘State of New Hampshire’ credentials printed large. I worry that I could have lost my license in the mail … and then the hassle of trying to get another one. I don’t know if it has changed but this also used to be the case with Green Cards. Sent normal mail. I had a very nice correspondence with Senator John Sununu on this matter.

I now it is always a cost issue, postage and the extra handling, but, I for one, would gladly pay an extra $5 to $6 to have the OPTION of having it sent certified, with signature required. That would make me so much happier, just because I think (though I have no experience) that trying to get a license reissued will most likely cost me more than $6 in added hassle. So to me, it is like insurance. Anyway, hope this helps.


Of late, ANOTHER one of the many, many things that continually intrigue me has become: ‘how many XXX per year … per day‘. Yesterday I was talking to a local photographer who was lamenting that he only has 3 wedding engagements booked for the whole year. I was trying to figure how many weddings … and marriages … we have around ‘here’ each year. He reckons 50. That could be weddings, i.e., a reception of some sort. That seems low to me.

So, today’s question. How many driver license renewals a day in NH?

Obviously the DMV knows that, but I am not sure they will tell me. More fun to try and estimate. 1,318,194 souls in NH per the 2011 census. 21.2% under 18. So, lets assume that 25% are under 16 and that another 20% do not drive. So 55% of 1,318,194 is 725,006. 5 year renewal cycle, so per year we could just take 1/5 of that (and yes, I know we have those taking the test for the first time etc., but I don’t need exact): 145,000. Divide that by by 365: 397.

Seems about right to me. ~400 license renewals in NH a day. Do you have a better number?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “How Long Before You Receive Permanent Plastic Driver License After Online Renewal.”

  1. J C says :

    You’re right that there isn’t too much information about this. I applied for my NH license on April 11, 28 days ago today, and it still hasn’t arrived. I really don’t think there’s any excuse for that much delay.

    • aguruge says :

      That is pushing it. I can’t remember WHEN they tell you that you can call to check. It might be after 4 weeks, which will be soon. Maybe it was even longer 6 weeks. I have heard that they send out to have the plastic ones made in batches. Not every day. So if you renewed the day or day after they sent out one batch you have to wait until the next batch. That could be the issue here. I had thought that 2 to 3 weeks is the average. You are now just over. I am trying to think whether we had any holidays. I can’t recall since I am retired. That could have added 3 days. BEST of luck. Keep us posted. Check their Web. I am sure you can call them very soon to see what has happened.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 95 other followers