2014 Chinese New Year, ‘The Year Of The Horse’ Begins January 31, 2014 In Boston …

Anura Guruge, June 8, 2013.2014yearhorseaghny

..
..
by
Anura Guruge


Related posts:
++++
Search ‘Chinese New Year’ for other posts from past years >>>>
++++
Check CATEGORY ‘Holidays’ for more >>>>


Hong Kong Association of Washington logo for their Gala dinner. Click to ENLARGE.

Hong Kong Association of Washington logo for their Gala dinner. Click to ENLARGE.

One New Year per year has never been enough for me. I feel terrible for those that just celebrate one and however hard I try, I can’t even come close to fathoming why anybody in their right mind (and I think that that alone is the key) would not want to even celebrate New Year’s on January 1. I have always celebrated two New Year’s per year: January 1 and Sinhalese New Year on April 14. For at least the last 15 years I have also added the Chinese New Year to my list. So that is 3 New Years between January 1 and April 14. That, to me, seems about right. I have, many times, thought about adding the Jewish New Year to this list, but despite much help from my Jewish friends I still have huge trouble trying to work out Jewish holidays. So I am going to stick with the ones I know and observe.

From 'dreamstime.com'. Click to visit and download this image.

From ‘dreamstime.com’. Click to visit and download this image.

The Chinese New Year is lunar and solar based!  Damn clever those Chinese. It starts after the 2nd New Moon following the Winter Solstice. So, the Winter Solstice, as we celebrated, was on December 21, 2013. The first new moon was January 1. The 2nd January 30. So that is why the New Year starts January 31. This is early. Last year it was nearly a week later. However, as I explained in multiple posts last year the Chinese New Year habitually spans two Sundays. The first Sunday, in Boston, is celebrated but is NOT the day of the Dragon Parades and fireworks. That is on the SECOND SUNDAY. This year the 2nd Sunday will be on February 9, 2014. That is when you should be in Chinatown, Boston — barring another blizzard like what we had last year. I will, of course, keep you posted over the next 5 weeks.

For now all you need to know is that it is the ‘Year of the Horse’. The New Year starts January 31, 2014. Dragon Parade in Boston February 9, 2014 — not to mention the de rigeur Dim Sum.


From 'hdwallpapersinn.com'. Click to access and download.

From ‘hdwallpapersinn.com’. Click to access and download.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers