The New, New Hampshire Legislators, Representatives & Senators, Assume Office Tomorrow, December 5, 2012.

Anura Guruge, laughing, picture November 16, 2011.


—-by Anura Guruge

Related posts:
>> We won, we won, we won, we won … Nov. 7, 2012.

Many in NH may not realize this given that most are accustomed to the ‘January of the following year’ changing of the guard in D.C.

However, in NH, new legislators assume office the SAME year as in which they were elected. So, those that were elected on November 6, 2012, assume office tomorrow, Wednesday, December 5, 2012, in Concord.

The NH rule is: ‘legislators assume office on the first Wednesday in December in even-numbered years, one month and one day after the November elections’. [This is also the case in Maine. 11 other states also have the legislators start in the same year as they were elected.]

The governor, however, viz. Maggie Hassain, isn’t sworn in until 2013, January 3, 2013, to be precise.

Here is a list of those that got elected in NH at the November 6, 2012 election.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s